

Executive Advisory Board

Agenda

Thursday, 25 January 2024 2.15 pm

Westminster Room, 8th Floor, 18 Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ

There will be a meeting of the Executive Advisory Board at **2.15 pm on Thursday**, **25 January 2024** Westminster Room, 8th Floor, 18 Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ.

LGA Hybrid Meetings

All of our meetings are available to join in person at <u>18 Smith Square</u> or remotely via videoconference as part of our hybrid approach. We will ask you to confirm in advance if you will be joining each meeting in person or remotely so we can plan accordingly, if you wish to attend the meeting in person, please also remember to confirm whether you have any dietary/accessibility requirements. 18 Smith Square is a Covid-19 secure venue and measures are in place to keep you safe when you attend a meeting or visit the building in person.

Please see guidance for Members and Visitors to 18 Smith Square here

Catering and Refreshments:

If the meeting is scheduled to take place at lunchtime, a sandwich lunch will be available.

Political Group meetings and pre-meetings for Lead Members:

Please contact your political group as outlined below for further details.

Apologies:

<u>Please notify your political group office (see contact telephone numbers below) if you are unable to attend this meeting.</u>

Conservative: Group Office: 020 7664 3223 email: lgaconservatives@local.gov.uk

Labour: Group Office: 020 7664 3263 email: labqp@lga.gov.uk

Independent: Group Office: 020 7664 3224 email: independent.grouplga@local.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat: Group Office: 020 7664 3235 email: libdem@local.gov.uk

Attendance:

Your attendance, whether it be in person or virtual, will be noted by the clerk at the meeting.

LGA Contact:

Alexander Saul

02076 643273 / alexander.saul@local.gov.uk

Carers' Allowance

As part of the LGA Members' Allowances Scheme, a Carer's Allowance of National Living Wage and/or London Living Wage is available to cover the cost of dependants (i.e. children, elderly people or people with disabilities) incurred as a result of attending this meeting.

Chairman: Councillor Shaun Davies Acting Chief Executive: Sarah Pickup CBE President: Baroness Grey-Thompson



Executive Advisory Board – Membership 2023/24 <u>Click here for accessible information on membership</u>

Labour (13)				
Cllr Shaun Davies (Chair)	Telford and Wrekin Council			
Cllr Nesil Caliskan (Vice-Chair)	Enfield Council			
Cllr Bev Craig (Deputy Chair)	Manchester City Council			
Cllr Michael Payne (Deputy Chair)	Gedling Borough Council			
Cllr Georgia Gould (Deputy Chair)	Camden Council			
Cllr Tudor Evans OBE (Acting	Plymouth City Council			
Deputy Chair)				
Cllr Louise Gittins (Board Chair)	Cheshire West and Chester Council			
Cllr Satvir Kaur (Board Chair)	Southampton City Council			
Cllr Darren Rodwell (Board	Barking and Dagenham London Borough			
Chair)	Council			
Cllr Peter Marland (Board Chair)	Milton Keynes Council			
Cllr Robert Stewart (Regional	WLGA			
Representative)				
Cllr Graeme Miller (Regional	North East of England			
Representative)				
Cllr David Baines (Regional	North West Regional Leaders' Board			
Representative)				
Sir Stephen Houghton CBE	SIGOMA			

Councillor	Authority
	-
Conservative (13)	
Cllr Kevin Bentley (Senior Vice-	Essex County Council
Chair)	
Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE (Deputy	Warwickshire County Council
Chairman)	
Cllr David Fothergill (Deputy	Somerset Council
Chairman)	
Cllr Morris Bright MBE (Deputy	Hertsmere Borough Council
Chairman)	O. I. T. 1011 O. 11
Cllr Abi Brown OBE (Deputy	Stoke-on-Trent City Council
Chair)	B 1: 1 1: 0 "
Cllr Martin Tett (Board Chair)	Buckinghamshire Council
Cllr Matthew Hicks (Regional	East of England LGA
Representative)	
Cllr Jason Smithers (Regional	East Midlands Councils
Representative)	
Cllr Alan White (Regional	West Midlands
Representative)	
Cllr John Hart (Regional	South West Councils
Representative)	
Cllr Nick Adams-King (Regional	South East Councils
Representative)	
Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen	District Councils Network
Cllr Tim Oliver	County Councils Network



SSO			

Liberal Democrat (4)	
Cllr Joe Harris (Vice-Chair)	Cotswold District Council
Cllr Bridget Smith (Deputy Chair)	South Cambridgeshire District Council
Cllr Heather Kidd MBE (Board	Shropshire Council
Chair)	
Cllr Liz Green (Board Chair)	Kingston upon Thames Royal Borough Council
Independent (4)	
Cllr Marianne Overton MBE	North Kesteven District Council
(Vice-Chair)	
Cllr Caroline Jackson (Deputy	Lancaster City Council
Chair)	
Cllr Andrew Cooper (Balancing	Kirklees Metropolitan Council
Member)	·
Cllr Tony Saffell (Balancing	North West Leicestershire District Council
Member)	



Agenda

Executive Advisory Board

Thursday, 25 January 2024

2.15 pm

Westminster Room, 8th Floor, 18 Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ

	Item	Page
1.	Welcome, Apologies and Declarations of Interest	
2.	Minutes of the previous meeting	1 - 4
3.	LGA Lobbying Headlines	5 - 10
4.	LGA Local Government White Paper upate	11 - 18
5.	2024/25 Provisional Local Government Finance Settlement	19 - 26

Date of Next Meeting: Thursday, 7 March 2024, 2.15 pm, Westminster Room, 8th Floor, 18 Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ